Beyond the 60th Parallel

When I first decided to commit to this road trip, I wasn’t quite sure what I was thinking I knew I was in for an adventure of a lifetime; and as it is with all adventures, it wouldn’t be one without risks and roadblocks, no matter how much planning you’ve done and I sure got my fair share of it. Matter of fact, I had barely left Toronto and a kerfuffle of some sort ensued. Still, I made it out alive and I’m sharing bits of my journey, to sort of validate my life choices (LOL) and I only ever blog when I have nothing better to do.

Day 0. C’est la vie / Toronto, ON – Midland, ON (160km)

Here I was, all ready and confident at 2100H. I only work night shifts so this was the time I was most alive. All systems checked. Cargo trailer loaded. Prayers submitted. Everything was running smoothly until a marsupial looking entity decided to cross the highway and alter my route. Long story short, I avoided him/her/it, lost control, swerved to a ditch, trailer got disconnected, rear busted. Incredibly, I was OK. I drove to a nearby hotel, got trailer towed, and tried to sort out everything the next day. I know the books would tell you to do otherwise in that setting; not to avoid, or slow down; but when you’re in the actual situation, your first instincts kick in and so sh*t happens.

It can be a lot to take in, but I decided to remain positive, thankful and focus on my course. And frankly, this was the most exciting part of my journey as the rest of the trip went on smoothly. I ditched the trailer, vowed to only drive at daytime and started anew.

IMG_3587

Day 1. Why is Ontario freaking huge? / Midland, ON – White River, ON (870km)

I got the car quickly inspected to see if it would survive a long drive, and resumed my trip. I was feeling a little ambitious at first and aimed to reach Thunder Bay at the end of the day, so I would have at least covered most of Ontario; but I’ve never actually driven for more than 2 hours in my entire life so I decided it wasn’t in my best interest.

vlcsnap-2020-05-17-13h49m43s715

If there’s any consolation, the views driving along Georgian Bay and Lake Superior in Ontario were amazing. And the apple fritters in Batchawana Bay were killer. Also the further I went, the more signs of animals crossings appeared and so aside from fighting fatigue and focusing on the road, I had to have my third eye opened for these animals looking out for fun. I retired in White River for the night and plotted my trek for the next day.

IMG_3588

Day 2. Are rabbits suicidal? Bye Ontario / White River, ON – Winnipeg, MB (1,070km)

Yes, you read that right. About the rabbits and the mileage. For this stretch, I encountered at least 5 rabbits casually strolling on the highway, stopping to make sure they have their moment on the road and have their whole lives flashing before their eyes. Well technically, 2 of them were no longer in this world. And no it wasn’t me.

The long and mountainous road along Ontario continued and I was dead set on finishing it that day no matter what. As I crossed the Ontario-Manitoba border, I tried to recall if I needed any documentation allowing me to pass through, I mean I’m sure I checked but what if things changed and they asked me to turn back. The horrible thought quickly dissipated as the officer just asked me to roll down my window and handed me a CoVid-19 related flyer and that was it. So hello prairie land.

IMG_3589

Day 3. Hi Saskatchewan, Bye Saskatchewan / Winnipeg, MB – Lloydminster, AB (1,055km)

While it took me more than 2 days to finish Ontario, I entered and flew through another province, Saskatchewan (I just love saying it) in one day. The landscape along Manitoba and SK, in contrast to Ontario, was mostly prairie and farmlands BUT I actually felt much safer driving there, and I appreciated the 2 lane highways too (not that I over-speed, I would never 😉).

It started raining lightly around mid-day and it was frustrating being stuck behind huge a*s trucks, with all the splashes and lesser visibility, but thankfully, I’m patient and wouldn’t dare overtake my new friends on the road LOL 😉😉😉. Which leads me to another question, why are there mostly trucks on the highway? Am I the only person crazy adventurous enough to even contemplate on doing this? OK don’t answer that.

IMG_3590

Day 4. Are We There Yet? / Lloydminster, AB – High Level, AB (980km)

As fatigue slowly crept in and you start questioning your life choices, the road trip continues. I was a bit concerned with traffic because the province was doing a soft opening with some essential businesses, but it was mostly the winds that made me hang on tight to the wheel. It was also at this point that phone reception/data was gone for most of the trip and there were fewer rest stops on the road.

I’ve lived in the densely populated Greater Toronto Area for the last 3 years and it was on this trip that I’ve re-familiarized myself with the fact that Canada has only 37 million people in an almost 10 million sq km land area so this was supposed to be the norm. But enough with Google facts, I reached High Level, AB that evening, my last stop, before climbing the Northwest Territories the following day.

IMG_3591

Day 5. OMG There’s Only 1 Gas Station / High Level, AB – Yellowknife, NT (730km)

*Insert The Final Countdown Music*

So this is it. The final stretch. The moment where you set aside all self-doubt (and save them for later) and face the battle (and bison) head strong. This was also the most concerning last stretch because there’s only 1 functional gas station in between High Level and Yellowknife, and cellphone signal is practically dead. This is also the time to check for flights going to Yellowknife instead LOL.

2593409125_38cbd231ce_b

The animal signs on the road were appearing more frequently, and the deer was getting fatter too. Huge signs in the shape of bison weren’t exactly comforting.

I stopped on the border between Alberta and The Northwest Territories, got my papers checked, and I was officially in NT. I was trying to show the border officer something on my phone, but he said ‘oh there’s no signal here.’ Yey.

I actually made it to Fort Providence, NT (415km) without having to use my extra fuel can. I had a full lunch there and had a chat with someone who came from way even up north in Inuvik, and said I should check it out. So to my family and friends, just a heads up :D.

The last leg from Providence to Yellowknife (315km) went on smoothly and yeah, I made it in one piece.

97422691_10163469059665414_1772401830463012864_o

Final Thoughts

It is drive-able. Do your research. Check your oil and stuff. Plan your stops. Plan for the unexpected. Drive during the day. Bring an extra fuel can. Have CAA or roadside assistance. Optional: Have a sat phone/know how to change tires.

OR

Take a plane. But that’s boring.

IMG_3585

4 thoughts on “Beyond the 60th Parallel

  1. Hello Echo, thank you for sharing your journey beyond the 60th parallel. I felt I was with you driving. 🙂 – Christoph 😛

    Like

  2. Hello good sir. Magandang araw. I have been meaning to ask you this since I’ve been reading your blog posts related to your journey going to Canada.

    I wanted to know how long did you wait in the express entry pool? You had 435 points at that time before you asked for Ontario’s nomination, tama po?

    Also, I have currently 416 points and am wondering if it’s also enough to get a nomination from Ontario province? And you also didn’t have any job offfers then?

    Lastly, can u please confirm, from what I make out of your post, you entered Canada without even being registered as an rpn/rn.?

    Thank u so much, ur reaponse is greatly appreciateed.

    Like

Leave a comment